Listen: Four Tet's Playlist Of Music From Countries Banned by the U.S

31 January 2017

In the wake of US President Donald Trump’s executive order to ban immigration from certain Muslim-majority countries, artists have been voicing their protest in a number of ways from taking to the streets to writing anti-Trump songs to voicing their dissent on social media. British-producer, Four Tet [Kieran Hebden], always the luminary, has taken it one step further by showcasing music from countries under Trump’s executive ban.

Hebden stated on Twitter that he was inspired to explore music from Trump’s banned countries. The executive order, issued on January 27, suspended the United States’ refugee program and barred entry to citizens of Syria, Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen for 90 days.

After reflecting on a past collaboration with Syrian artist Omar Souleyman, whose 2013 album ‘Wenu Wenu’ was produced by Four Tet in Brooklyn, Hebden realised that under Trump’s new law, a collaboration like this would not be allowed to happen.

Hebden, known for his propensity towards sharing his vast musical knowledge on stage or social media, decided to add a collection of music to his already expansive Spotify playlist. Tracks from Omar Souleyman of Syria, Martik of Iran, Naji Barakat from Yemen and more have all been added to what is now a 28-hour playlist.



Join Our Mailing List