Wild City #205: GIRLS NIGHT OUT

Wild City #205: GIRLS NIGHT OUT

16 July 2021

Whether at a late-night slot behind a deck in South Delhi or a sunny pool-side party, Vijayant Singh as GIRLS NIGHT OUT always cues his selections with a natural sense of the occasion and the energy of his audience, always rendering sweating it out on the dance floor an effortless and compulsive experience.

While the ongoing pandemic has kept the local dancefloors empty for most parts, the half-lawyer half-DJ transports the listeners energetically to the clubs with his Wild City mix, adding an extra sense of nostalgia with classic club sounds delivered through surprising and revelatory selections.

The mix maintains Vijayant’s intrinsic dynamism inviting the listener in quickly yet smoothly with the subdued bass phrases of Robert Leiner’s ‘Aqua Viva’, then turning up its guttural factor through thumping kick drums and later some breakbeats before diving headlong into house and its surrounding strands of dance music. Keeping a finger on the pulse of his audience, Vijayant lets the listener cool down every once in a while with the trippy sensuousness of tracks like Dream 2 Science’s ‘My Love Turns To Liquid’ and Hawke’s ‘3 Nudes In A Purple Garden’ before resuming the exciting frenzy that defines a GIRLS NIGHT OUT mix.

“This mix is basically an hour of music that I would play at the club. It has a strong 90's energy running through it. Which is an era of music (and everything else) that I resonate with, however cliched and nostalgic this may sound. Expect an emotional work-out.” – GIRLS NIGHT OUT

Listen to the mix below:

Direct Download Wild City #205: GIRLS NIGHT OUT // Head here for Mixcloud


Robert Leiner – Aqua Viva
Rhythm Workshop – Aftershock
Midlife – The Magnificent Moon (Tornado Wallace Remix)
Push/Pull – Africa
Dream 2 Science – My Love Turns To Liquid
Riviera Traxx – Parfume 1
Larry Tee – Love Machine (Club Mix)
Nuclear Child – Time + Space (Thunder Mix)
Sumbawanga – Djulu (Lau Tropico Edit)
Boxcar – Lelore (2021 Remaster)
The Future Sound of London – Stolen Documents (Jazz Dub)
Hawke – 3 Nudes In A Purple Garden
Lando – Gather Round
Samo DJ & 5ive – Drunkenstein
DJ Mau Mau – Hell’s Club
Kenny Dope – At The Bank
Onionz – What Mama Says
Masterplan – Electric Baile
Takenoko – Lee Harvey Oswald (Sneaker “Maquette” Mix)


Join Our Mailing List